













April 20, 2023

The Honourable Derek Johnson Minister of Agriculture minagr@leg.gov.mb.ca The Honourable Sarah Guillemard
Minister of Advanced Education and Training
minaesi@leg.gov.mb.ca

RE: Unfunded Manitoba Students at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine (WCVM)

Dear Minister Johnson and Minister Guillemard:

Manitoba commodity groups are writing to request funding for eight unfunded Manitoba students currently enrolled at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine (WCVM).

The Government of Manitoba plays an important role in addressing the veterinarian shortage that currently exists in rural Manitoba. Manitoba commodity groups appreciated the government's decision to increase the number of subsidized seats at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine.

Prior to the government's commitment to fund additional seats at the WCVM, the WCVM had admitted western Canadian students. These students have paid roughly \$70,000 per year in tuition (not including living expenses) to attend the WCVM and under the current agreement will continue to do so over the course of their four years of study. This is in contrast to the less than \$15,000 per year tuition bill of their fellow funded Manitoba students. Due to their financial situation these students are inclined to begin their veterinary career in jurisdictions other than Manitoba.

Keystone Agricultural Producers, Dairy Farmers of Manitoba, Manitoba Pork Council, Manitoba Forage and Grassland Association, Manitoba Bison Association and Manitoba Beef Producers are requesting that the Government of Manitoba provide funding for these eight Manitoba students currently attending the Western College of Veterinary Medicine (WCVM). Providing funding for these eight students will help address the current veterinary shortage and ensure that these students practice in Manitoba after graduation.

Thank you for taking the time to read this letter and we look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

David Wiens

Chair

Dairy Farmers of Manitoba

Robert Johnson

President

Manitoba Bison Association

Matthew Atkinson

President

Manitoba Beef Producers

Mike Reimer

Chair

Manitoba Turkey Producers

Cam Dahl General Manager Manitoba Pork Council

JUllerweg

Jill Verwey President

Keystone Agricultural Producers Inc.

Lawrence Knockaert

Chair

Manitoba Forage and Grassland Association